About selecting a courier

2013aba
Community Member

Hi, 

I am selling an External hard Disk, supposed to send it from Chennai, TN to Surat, Gujarat. This is my first time selling and I'm shipping it on my own. I listed the shipping as free, thinking the shipping would cost arond Rs.100 to Rs.200, since I've seen sellers listing Flat rate shipping to anywhere in India at Rs.65-Rs 85. Now, after receiving the order, I enquired Bluedart and they said a whopping Rs.1500+ by road and Rs. 2500+ by Air. The item weight will be around 250 - 300 grams.

I know other couriers might have a cheaper rate, but I don't think there would be much difference. Is this the usual shipping charge? 

Thanks for replies. 

Message 1 of 11
latest reply
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Probably they charge according to the item type (specially electronics).

In India ebay is a dying out industry specially for small sellers who want to make some pocket money from the sales. For a small seller like you and me, unless you open a very big shop in ebay with many transactions each day, or if you subscribe to ebay paid services, you are unlikely to profit from the sales. The major concern being the shipping cost. Still you can send the item through registered speed post.

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 11
latest reply

bluedart charges on the basis of the value of the item.

you can use speedpost

just pack the item well

View solution in original post

Message 3 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Probably they charge according to the item type (specially electronics).